March 21, 2022
April 11, 2022

OSOPADEC Chairman, Otunba Sam Oluwadamilohun Erejuwa has assured that security and infrastructural development of the Niger-Delta region of the state will be prioritized by his administration.

Erejuwa gave this assurance on Thursday 31st March, during a town hall meeting held at Williams Event Centre Igbokoda.

The forum was put together by the newly inaugurated Board of the Commission with an agenda to ensure that all stakeholders are carried along in its march towards the development of the mandate areas.

Declaring the event open, Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu SAN, represented by the Deputy Governor, Hon. Lucky Orimisan Aiyedatiwa applauded the Commission and its leadership for the initiative as such interactive forum had not been witnessed for so many years.

According to Hon. Aiyedatiwa, the historic gathering is a “NEEDS” assessment event and a step in the right direction which provides an avenue for the people to ‘speak up’ on their needs and expectations. This he said will guide the leadership of the Commission in coming up with programs that will meet the needs and aspirations of the people.

Aiyedatiwa thanked the people of Ilaje and Ese-odo for the support the government has so far enjoyed from them. He said they should not to be weary in their support for the Arakunrin Akeredolu led administration and by extension the Board and management of OSOPADEC. This he said will spur the government to bring monumental development to the two local government areas.

The traditional rulers and stakeholders unanimously commended the Commission for its past interventions in term of project delivery in the oil producing communities. They however, in their resolve demanded for more government presence in the oil-rich region.

The demands and needs of the people were expressed through selected representatives across the communities amongst which are traditional rulers, religious and opinion leaders, women groups, youths and students representatives. They were unanimous in their clamor for the completion of abandoned projects, job creation, empowerment programmes, provision of quality health care, qualitative education, functional electricity, pipe-borne water and infrastructural development.

Addressing the gathering, the Chairman of OSOPADEC, Otunba Sam Erejuwa appreciated the State Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu SAN, and his deputy, Hon. Lucky Orimisan Aiyedatiwa for giving him the opportunity to serve as the Chairman of the Board of OSOPADEC. He also applauded the traditional rulers and all critical stakeholders for their presence and contributions.

In his words, “my appointment to pilot the affairs of OSOPADEC is a call to serve, but before I commence my service to the people, it is important to familiarize myself with the people and hear from them. I need to know what you want from OSOPADEC, what to tell the State Government and how to channel available resources towards its actualization.”

“No doubt the Commission has laudable vision and mission, but its implementation in a time of economic hardship is a great challenge. Let me however, reassure you that I, and my Board members mean well for you, we want to serve you better and we will not let you down”.

Erejuwa emphasized that his administration will not deviate from the ‘REDEEMED Agenda’ of the Akeredolu led government.

According to him, “the springboard for our forward movement is the REDDEEMED Agenda of the present Government upon the five (5) primary pillars of which we are going to segregate our interventions”. These he said include: Rural and Agricultural Development Initiatives, Educational Advancement and Human Capital Development, Development through Massive Infrastructure, Efficient Service Delivery, Development and Policy, Effective Healthcare and Social Welfare, Maintenance of Law and Order for Adequate Security, Energy, Mining and Sustainable Industries and Digital Revolution and Entrepreneurship.

Among the dignitaries at the well-attended epochal event were State cabinet members, top government functionaries, State legislative members Chairmen of Council, OSOPADEC Board Members, Directors and Senior Management staff of the Commission.